On February 8, a stamp dedicated to the 300th Anniversary of the Saint Petersburg State University was put into postal circulation

The Saint Petersburg State University (SPbU) is the oldest and one of the largest and leading classical centers of education and culture in Russia. It was established by a decree of Peter the Great on February 8 of 1724. The history of the University in the 18th century is closely related to the name of outstanding Russian scientist Mikhail Lomonosov.

By the middle of the 19th century, it became a major scientific and cultural center of the country, where famous scientific schools were formed: those of mathematician P. Chebyshev, biologists I. Mechnikov, A. Kovalevsky, and I. Sechenov. In the 1860s, scientific societies were arranged in the University: of naturalists, chemists, philological, anthropological and historical societies; besides, the Botanical Garden and the Astronomical Observatory were created. In 1878, the University opened the Higher Women's Courses, which laid the foundation for the education of girls in our country.

Over the three centuries of history of the St. Petersburg University, thousands of outstanding scientists, public, state and political figures, writers, artists and musicians have studied and worked there: D. Mendeleyev, I. Turgenev, P. Stolypin, I. Pavlov, D. Mamin-Sibiryak, V. Dokuchaev, A. Blok, M. Vrubel, M. Glinka, N. Roerich, L. Landau, L. Kantorovich, V. Putin, D. Medvedev and many others.

Nowadays, the SPbSU maintains its leading position in the Russian higher school. The educational and scientific complex includes 16 faculties, 11 institutes, a university-wide chair, the Department of Physical Education and Sports, the Military Training Centre, the College of Physical Education and Sports, of Economics and Technology, and the D.K. Faddeev Academic Gymnasium.

In 2009, the SPbSU was granted a special status of "a unique scientific and educational complex, the oldest higher education institution of the country, which is of paramount importance for the development of the Russian society".

The postage stamp provides an image of the main building of the St. Petersburg State University - the Twelve Colleges Building and the monument to Count Sergei Uvarov.

In addition to the issue of the postage stamp, JSC Marka produced First Day Covers and special cancels for Moscow and St. Petersburg, as well as an illustrated cover with the postage stamp, a label and a First Day Cover with a cancel for St. Petersburg inside.

Design Artist: R. Shuvalova; Design: A. Povarikhin.
Face value: 67 rubles.
Stamp size: 36.5×29 mm, sheet size: 100×150 mm.
Emission form: a sheet with formatted margins with 8 (2×4) stamps.
Quantity: 72 thousand stamps (9 thousand sheets).

« back