On May 25, a postage stamp dedicated to the 300th Anniversary of foundation of Ekaterinburg was put into postal circulation

Ekaterinburg is the administrative center of the Sverdlovsk Region and the fourth most populous city in Russia. It is located in the central part of Eurasia, on the eastern slope of the Ural Mountains, on the banks of the Iset River. It was founded as a fortress plant on the Iset River in 1723. The place for the city was chosen by an associate of Peter I, V.N. Tatishchev. The city was named Ekaterinburg in honor of Empress Catherine I. In the early 18th century, Ekaterinburg received the status of the only "mining town" in Russia. Since 1726, the production of copper money was launched there, and a few years later, that of the all-Russian copper coin. From the late 19th until the early 20th century, Ekaterinburg was one of the centers of the revolutionary movement in the Ural Region.

During the Soviet period, Ekaterinburg became a powerful industrial center. In the course of the Great Patriotic War, more than 50 large enterprises were relocated to Sverdlovsk, which made the basis of newly built or expanded old plants. In the post-war years, machine building and metalworking continued to dominate the city's economy, but enterprises focused on the consumer market also appeared. In 1970-1980, the expansion of the military-industrial complex continued, which accounted for up to 20% of the industrial output.

Today, Ekaterinburg is a large industrial, scientific and cultural center of the Ural Region and Russia. The city has more than 30 museums, above 600 historical and cultural monuments. In 2003, a Memorial Church-on-the-Blood in the name of All Saints Shone Forth in the Land of Russia, one of the largest Orthodox churches in Ekaterinburg, was built on the site of the murder of Russian Emperor Nicholas II and his family.

The postage stamp provides an image of the monument to the founders of Ekaterinburg Vasily Tatishchev and Georg Wilhelm de Gennin and a panorama of the modern part of the city.

In addition to the issue of the postage stamp, JSC Marka produced First Day Covers and special cancels for Moscow and Ekaterinburg.

Design Artist: I. Ulyanovsky.
Face value: 50 rubles.
Stamp size: 42×30 mm, sheet size: 146×173 mm.
Emission form: a sheet with formatted margins with 15 (3×5) stamps.
Quantity: 135 thousand stamps (9 thousand sheets).

« back