On March 25, an envelope with a commemorative stamp dedicated to the 100th Anniversary of the V. Mayakovsky Moscow Academic Theatre was put into postal circulation

The V. Mayakovsky Moscow Academic Theatre (in 1922-1941 named the Theatre of the Revolution, and in 1941-1954 referred to as the Moscow Drama Theatre) is one of the oldest drama theaters in Moscow. Founded in 1922, it is located in Bolshaya Nikitskaya Street. At different times, its stage directors were Vsevolod Meyerhold, Nikolai Gorchakov and Andrei Goncharov. The repertoire is based on plays inspired by Russian classical literature.

At all times, the V. Mayakovsky Theater has been renowned for its actors. M. Babanova and M. Astangov, M. Shtraukh and L. Sverdlin, B. Tenin and L. Sukharevskaya, A. Dzhigarkhanyan and O. Yakovleva, T. Doronina and N. Gundareva used to play on its stage. Today, the theater company is represented by such outstanding masters as S. Nemolyaeva, I. Kostolevsky, M. Filippov, E. Simonova, A. Lobotsky, A. Ardova and others.

The stamp provides the logo of the celebration of the 100th Anniversary of the Theater; the main image features the building of the V. Mayakovsky Moscow Academic Theatre.

In addition to the issue of the envelope with a commemorative stamp, JSC Marka produced a special cancel for Moscow.

Design Artist: A. Gribkova.
Photo: I. Boriskina.
Quantity: 500 thousand envelopes.

« back