On March 22, a stamp dedicated to the Interparliamentary Assembly of the Member States of the Commonwealth of Independent States was put into postal circulation

The Interparliamentary Assembly of CIS Member Nations was established on March 27, 1992. It comprises 10 countries, namely: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. The Assembly is headquartered in the Tavricheskiy Palace in St. Petersburg.

The IPA CIS is an interstate body of the Commonwealth, which provides the platform for interparliamentary cooperation aimed at deepening economic integration, strengthening humanitarian relationships in science, education, culture, tourism, public health, protecting human rights and interests, environmental issues, security and law enforcement. In the frames of the IPA CIS, intensive activities are under way in these fields to converge national legislations by developing model laws and their implementation in the legal systems of the member states. Over the years of its operation, the Assembly adopted more than 600 model legislative acts and recommendations.

Within its powers, the CIS IPA solves efficiently the issues of cooperation in monitoring elections and referendums, introduction of common and objective standards of electoral process assessment. The election monitoring mechanism formed by the Assembly has become an integral element of the system of international monitoring of electoral processes taking place throughout the Commonwealth.

The CIS IPA is a platform for the Youth Interparliamentary Assembly, which encourages the young generation of citizens to get involved in the integration processes of the CIS in the political, economic, humanitarian, environmental, cultural and other fields.

The postage stamp provides a graphic drawing of the Tavricheskiy Palace, the headquarters of the CIS Interparliamentary Assembly in St. Petersburg, and the logo of the organization.

In addition to the issue of the postage stamp, JSC Marka produced First Day Covers and special cancels for Moscow and St. Petersburg.

Design Artist: S. Kapranov.
Face value: 50 rubles.
Stamp size: 50×37 mm, sheet size: 170×174 mm.
Emission form: a sheet with 12 (3×4) stamps.
Quantity: 108 thousand stamps (12 thousand sheets).

« back