On January 29, an envelope with a commemorative stamp dedicated to the 100th Anniversary of the Moscow State Academic Philharmonia was put into postal circulation

The Moscow State Academic Philharmonia (MSAPh) is one of the largest concert organizations in the world, holding annually more than 3,000 concerts at venues in Moscow, in regions of Russia and abroad. The grand opening of the Moscow Philharmonia was held on January 29, 1922, in the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory. From the very first years, world-renowned musicians performed in the Philharmonia, among them: Otto Klemperer, Hermann Abendroth, Erich Kleiber, Ernest Ansermet, Arthur Rubinstein, Efrem Zimbalist, Jascha Heifetz and Marian Anderson. In the 1920s, young music ensembles, including the Beethoven Quartet and the Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra led by Nikolay Golovanov and Alexander Orlov announced themselves. Throughout its history, the Philharmonia has been holding the leading position, introducing prominent musicians. In 1996, the Moscow Philharmonia received the status of "academic".

The Moscow State Academic Philharmonia has seven active concert venues, namely: the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall, the Philharmonia Chamber Hall, the Grand Hall of the Moscow Conservatory and the halls making part of the Philharmonia-2 concert complex: the Rachmaninov Concert Hall, the Small Hall, the Game Hall (for events with children) and the Virtual (cinema) Hall.

The commemorative stamp provides images of the building of the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall and the emblem of the celebration; the illustration features a photo taken during the concert of the Symphony Orchestra conducted by N. Golovanov, soloist E. Gilels (May, 1942).

In addition to the issue of the envelope with a commemorative stamp, JSC Marka produced a special cancel for Moscow.

Design Artist: M. Bodrova.
Quantity: 1 million envelopes.

« back