December 4, a cancellation ceremony was held of three postage stamps in the “Outstanding Russian Lawyers” series

The participants in the ceremony were Alexander Konovalov, Minister of Justice; Oleg Dukhovnitskiy, Head of the Federal Communications Agency; Sergey Stepashin, Cochairman of Russia’s Association of Lawyers, and Alexander Sukharev, RSFSR Minister of Justice in 1984-1988 and Prosecutor General of the USSR in 1988-1990.

The postage stamps are dedicated to Russia’s outstanding lawyers Sergey Alexeyev, Ivan Dmitriev and Nikolai Korkunov. Sergey Sergeyevich Alexeyev (1924–2013) was a law theorist and civilist, an author of the RF Constitution of the Russian Federation. Nikolai Mikhailovich Korkunov (1853–1904) was a scientist, law philosopher, a leading authority on legal sociology. Ivan Ivanovich Dmitriev (1760–1837) was a statesman, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Russian Empire in 1810–1814, a Russian writer and fabulist.

“All the three lawyers made a significant contribution to the development of the national legal science and practice. The release of postage stamps with their portraits is indeed important for keeping Russia’s historical and cultural traditions. Bringing public attention to their versatile activities promotes patriotic education of the modern generation,” said the Head of the Federal Communications Agency.

Design: R. Komsa.
Face value: 22 RUB.
Size of stamps: 37×37 mm, size of sheets: 131×131 mm.
Form of issue: sheets with illustrated margins of 8 (3х3) stamps and a coupon.
Circulation: 216 thousand copies (27 thousand sheets of each stamp).

« back