April 6, four stamps depicting turtles are issued as part of the Russian Fauna series


Russian fauna comprises all the animals inhabiting Russia. There are more than 1,300 species of vertebrates alone, and 70,000 species of insects.

In Russia, there are four types of turtles, with only the spur-thighed tortoise living on land. It lives in the Caucasus. Some of its subspecies are endangered, and the very species is listed in the Red Data Book of the Russian Federation. Of the water turtles, the Russian Federation is inhabited by the European pond turtle, the Chinese softshell turtle and the Caspian turtle.

The postage stamps feature the European pond turtle, the spur-thighed tortoise, the Caspian turtle and the Chinese softshell turtle.

Additionally, JSC “Marka” has manufactured an illustrated cover with the four stamps and first day covers with cancellation (Moscow) inside, as well as four maximum cards.

Design: G. Schegol.
Face value: 35 RUB.
Size of stamp: 37×26 mm, size of sheet: 94×72 mm.
Form of issue: sheet with illustrated margins of 4 (2×2) stamps.
Circulation: 75,000 each stamp (75,000 sheets).

« back