June 9, a postage stamp dedicated to the 25th anniversary of the Commonwealth of Independent States to be issued

The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is a regional international organization aimed at regulating cooperative relations between former Soviet Republics.

The CIS was founded by Belarus, Russia and Ukraine on 8 December 1991, when their leaders signed the “Agreement Establishing the Commonwealth of Independent States”. The CIS comprises Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. In August 2005, Turkmenistan changed its CIS standing membership to become an associate member.

The CIS main goals are cooperation in political, economic, ecological, humanitarian, cultural and other spheres; mutual legal support; peaceful resolution of disputes and conflicts between the Commonwealth member-states.

The postage stamp features the CIS logo.

Additionally, FSUE PTC “Marka” will manufacture a first day cover and postmark for Moscow.

Design: Kh. Betredinova.
Face value: 17 RUB.
Size of stamp: 37×37 mm, size of sheet: 131×131 mm.
Form of issue: sheet of 9 (3×3) stamps.
Circulation: 288,000 stamps (32,000 sheets).

« back