February 20, a stamp dedicated to the Kontinental Hockey League is issued

The Kontinental Hockey League (KHL) is an open international ice hockey league founded in 2008. It is the strongest league in Europe comprising hockey clubs from Belarus, Croatia, Finland, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Russia and Slovakia.

The ultimate trophy of the competition, the Gagarin Cup, is awarded to the winner of the KHL final playoff series and is a challenge prize. A portrait of Yuri Gagarin in a spacesuit and a soaring comet are engraved on the front of the trophy; the reverse side features a hockey player.

The base of the cup is adorned with the KHL logo. The cup is decorated with small pucks, on which the winning teams’ names are engraved. The name of the ultimate KHL trophy is highly appropriate: Yuri Gagarin will always be remembered as the first man in space and everyone associates his image with the height of achievement.

The stamp issue is timed to the start of the current season playoff, as well as to the launch of the new FIFA corporate identity, which dominates the stamp. Its main feature is the Gagarin Cup, with two figures of hockey players situated to the sides of it.

Additionally, FSUE PTC “Marka” has manufactured an illustrated cover with four stamps and a first day cover with cancellation (Moscow) inside.

Design: R. Komsa
Face value: 19 RUB.
Size of stamp: 37×37 mm, size of sheets: 131×131 mm.
Form of issue: sheet of 9 (3×3) stamps.
Circulation: 342,000 stamps (38,000 sheets).

« back