Preview of State Signs of Postal Payment to Be Issued in February

February 3, a postcard with an original stamp dedicated to the 50th anniversary of the Luna 9 automatic interplanetary station first soft landing on the Moon is issued as part of Space Conquest series

Luna 9 automatic interplanetary station is one of a large series of Soviet AIS used to research the Moon and space. On 3 February 1966, the station achieved a soft landing on the Moon in the vicinity of Oceanus Procellarum, to the west of Reiner and Mary craters.

One of the most important discoveries of Luna 9 was confirming a hypothesis about the Moon surface structure. Panoramic photos of the Moon surface taken at different Sun heights above the horizon provided an opportunity to study the Moon soil, to determine sizes and shapes of depressions and stones.

The postcard with an original stamp depicts a symbolic image of a carrier rocket being launched into space. The main image features a descent module of an automatic interplanetary station on the Moon surface.

Additionally, FSUE PTC “Marka” will manufacture a special cancellation postmark for Moscow, Korolyov (Moscow Oblast) and Baikonur central post office.

Design: A. Drobyshev (stamp), R. Komsa (illustration)
Circulation: 19,000 copies.

February 10, an envelope with an original stamp dedicated to the 150th birth anniversary of Romain Rolland is issued as part of World Cultural Luminaries series

Romain Rolland (1866‒1944) was a French writer, public person and music historian. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1915 and became an honorary member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR in 1932.

Rolland was born in France where he spent his childhood. In 1881, his family moved to Paris, where the writer, having finished the Lycée Louis-le-Grand, was accepted to the École normale supérieure in 1886. Having chosen history of music as his specialty, he received his doctoral degree in 1889.

Romain Rolland gained recognition at the turn of the 20th century, when a series of his plays dedicated to the French Revolution was published and staged. The series includes such plays as Les Loups (The Wolves), Le Triomphe de la raison (The Triumph of Reason), Danton and Le Quatorze Juillet (The Fourteenth of July). The most-known work that yielded him international acclaim is a novel Jean-Christophe.

The envelope with an original stamp contains a composition of symbols of various kinds of art: a lyre, palette, books, a quill, column and a theatre curtain, as well as a portrait of Romain Rolland against the background of his books.

Additionally, FSUE PTC “Marka” will manufacture a special cancellation postmark for Moscow.

Design: V. Khablovskiy
Circulation: 1,000,000 copies.

February 18, five stamps dedicated to Gatchina, Grozny, Petrozavodsk, Staraya Russa and Feodosia are issued as a continuation of Cities of Military Glory series

The honorary title of the Russian Federation "City of Military Glory" assigned "for the courage, fortitude and heroism shown by the defenders of the city in the fight for freedom and independence of the Motherland."

Regulation on conditions and procedure for awarding the title was approved by Presidential Decree on December 1, 2006 № 1340. The honorary title of "City of Military Glory" has continued the tradition started in the USSR awarding the cities highest distinction - the title of "Hero City".

Today, in 45 cities of the Russian Federation, which was awarded this honorary title.

Artist-designer: V. Beltiukov.
Denomination: 20 p.
Size of stamps: 37 × 37 mm, sheet size: 125 × 88 mm.
Product: Sheet (3 × 2) from 5 values ​​and label.
Circulation: 75 thousand. Brands (75 thousand. Sheets).

February 19, stamps depicting state awards of the Russian Federation are issued

State awards of the Russian Federation are the highest form of recognition of outstanding services delivered by citizens in the defense of the Fatherland, as well as in the development of the state; achievements in economy, science, culture, art, pedagogy, education; protection of health, lives and the rights of the citizens; charitable activities and other outstanding services rendered to the state.

The postage stamps bear images of state orders and decorations of the Russian Federation:

1. The Order of St Andrew the Apostle the First-Called
2. Gold Star Medal
3. St George’s Cross
4. The Order of Merit for the Fatherland
5. The Order of St Catherine
6. The Order of Alexander Nevsky
7. The Order of Suvorov
8. Hero of Labor of the Russian Federation Gold Medal
9. The Order of Ushakov
10. The Order of Zhukov
11. The Order of Kutuzov
12. The Order of Nakhimov
13. The Order of Courage
14. The Order of Friendship
15. The Order of Military Merit
16. The Order of Naval Merit
17. The Order of Honor
18. The Order of Parental Glory

Additionally, FSUE PTC “Marka” will manufacture a first day cover and first day postmarks for Moscow and Saint Petersburg.

Design: M. Moscovets.
Face value: 25 RUB.
Size of stamps: 26х58 mm, size of sheets: 176Х194 mm
Form of issue: sheet with illustrated margins of 18 (6x3) stamps.
Circulation: 75 thousand stamps (75,000 sheets).

February 20, a stamp dedicated to the Kontinental Hockey League is issued

The Kontinental Hockey League (KHL) is an open international ice hockey league founded in 2008. It is the strongest league in Europe comprising hockey clubs from Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Slovakia, Croatia and Finland.

The ultimate trophy of the competition, the Gagarin Cup, is awarded to the winner of the KHL final playoff series and is a challenge prize. The trophy is handed over to the captain of the winning team at the championship closing ceremony. The owner of this award receives the title of the Champion of Russia regardless of the team’s national affiliation. The 16 best teams of the KHL regular season compete for the Gagarin Cup in series of up to four victories.

The postage stamp depicts the Gagarin Cup and shapes of hockey players.

Additionally, FSUE PTC “Marka” will manufacture an illustrated cover with a four postage stamps and a first day cover with cancellation (Moscow) inside.

Design: R. Komsa
Face value: 25 RUB.
Size of stamp: 37×37 mm, size of sheets: 131×131 mm.
Form of issue: sheet of 9 (3×3) stamps.
Circulation: 342,000 stamps (38,000 sheets).

February 26, a stamp dedicated to the 20th anniversary of the Russian Federation membership in the Council of Europe is issued

The Council of Europe, founded in 1949, is the continent’s largest human rights organization comprising 47 states, 28 of which are European Union members. Its headquarters is in Strasbourg, France.

The Council of Europe was created to protect human rights, build parliamentary democracy, ensure the rule of law, achieve pan-European understanding aimed at harmonizing social and judicial practice in member-states, assist nations in recognizing European originality and unity based on common cultural values and involving preservation and promoting culture diversity.

The Russian Federation became a member of the Council of Europe on February 28, 1996.

The postage stamps bears an image of a world map with Council of Europe member states highlighted and a logo of the organization.

Additionally, FSUE PTC “Marka” will manufacture an illustrated cover with a block of four stamps and a first day cover with cancellation (Moscow) inside.

Design: A. Drobyshev.
Face value: 21 RUB.
Size of stamp: 58×26 mm, size of sheets: 190×120 mm.
Form of issue: sheet of 12 (3×4) stamps.
Circulation: 324,000 stamps (27,000 sheets).

« back