Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin is a unique military and engineering installation of the beginning of the 16th century. Built in 1515, it was considered one of the most complete constructions of Russian military architecture.
Presently the Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin retains the image of a medieval fortress – solid towers of several floors, inexpugnable walls with narrow loopholes. A chain of fortifications has a shape of an irregular polygon with towers situated at the angles. The length of the Kremlin wall with 13 extant towers is 2,045 m.
Nowadays Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin is a historical and cultural center of Nizhny Novgorod. It houses the Plenipotentiary of the President in the Volga Federal District, regional and city administrations, Art Museum and a Modern Art Center. Since 1958 the Kremlin has been a part of Nizhny Novgorod Historical and Architectural Museum Preserve.
The souvenir sheet depicts a scene of inspection of Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin from the opposite shore of the Volga at the end of the construction in 1515. From left to right: Pietro Francesko (an Italian architect, who built the Nizhny Novgorod Stone Kremlin from 1509 till 1511), boyars from the Tsar’s entourage, builders who took part in the Kremlin construction, Grand Prince Vasily Ivanovich and Nizhny Novgorod Prince Andrey Borisovich Gorbatyi-Shuisky.
Additionally, FSUE “Marka” Publishing and Trading Centre will manufacture an illustrated cover
with the souvenir sheet and first day covers with cancellations (Nizhny Novgorod) inside.
Design: S. Ulyanovskiy
Face value: 35 RUB
Size of sheet: 120×85 mm, size of stamp: 65×32.5 mm
Circulation: 75,000 copies.