On March 4, four postage stamps in a series “Flora of Russia. Cones of coniferous trees and shrubs” are issued.


Juniperus davurica is a procumbent shrub with branches covered with gray shell bark. Shoots are thin and tetrahedral. They are evergreen with needle-like and/or scale-like leaves.  The cones are usually single, globe-shaped, small (0.3–6 cm long), dark blue with warm grey raid. Juniperus davurica is widely distributed in North China, Yakutia, Transbaikalia, North Mongolia, Maritime Territory, Khabarovsk krai, Amur region.

Microbiota decussata is a monotypic genus of coniferous shrub in the cypress family Cupressaceae. It can be found on the slopes of Russian Far East. Epithet “decussate” is related to the disposition of scales of leaves and female cones. Microbiota decussate is listed in the Russian Red Book as a threatened species. 

Larix cajanderi is the most northern tree growing in these conditions. It is distributed in East of  the Lena River, in the basin its tributary the Aldan River, the littoral of the Sea of Okhotsk. It can be found in the basin of the Yana River, the Indirka River, the Kolyma River, the Anadyr River, the Penzhina River and also in Kamchatka. It can grow up to 800 years or more.

Siberian Spruce (Pícea obováta) is one of the most important species of Siberian woods. It grows from North Europe to Magadan region, in the Northland, Kazakhstan, the north of Mongolia, China (Northern Manchuria). As a rule, it usually grows as an accompanying species in mixed forests. It isn’t a fundamental forest forming tree.

Design: А. Povarikhin.

Denomination: 15 rub.

Size of stamp: 36х28 mm, size of sheet: 99,3х151,7 mm.

Form of issue: sheet with illustrated margins of 8 (2х4) peel and stick stamps.

Circulation: 110 thousand copies of stamps (55 thousand sheets).

« back