Postage stamp "Russia. Regions. Kaluga region" is issued


A series of stamps "Russia. Regions", which FSUE PTC "Marka" has issued since 1997, is intended to reflect the cultural, historical, ethnic diversity of regions of the Russian Federation. The aim of issues is to attract citizens' attention to the culture and history of the Fatherland.
The stamps are a reflection of the brightest and most recognizable objects of each region of the Russian Federation. The subject of stamp includes such components as culture, industry, agriculture and unique natural shape of region.

Kaluga region, founded in 1944, borders with the Moscow, Tula, Bryansk, Smolensk, Orel regions. Administrative center - the city of Kaluga.

The Kaluga region is rich with unique natural (State Nature Reserve "Kaluga Abatis", National park "Ugra") and cultural (the oldest Drama Theatre in Russia) objects. The city of Obninsk is largest research center of the region, which was built next to the world's first nuclear power plant opened in 1954.

Kaluga is the birthplace of the founder of cosmonautics K.E. Tsiolkovsky, therefore not only his house-museum, but the K.E. Tsiolkovsky State Museum of the History of Cosmonautics situates here, and model of carrier rocket "Vostok" is set in the park named after K.E. Tsiolkovsky.   

Form of issuance: sheet of 36 (6x6) stamps.
Printing technique: Offset
Design: B. Beltiukov
Denomination: 11.80 rub.
Size of stamp: 40x28 mm.
Circulation: 330 000 stamps.

« back