№ 375/окр. Geographic Projects of Russia series. 200th Birth Anniversary of L.E. Schwartz (1822-1894), astronomer, traveler

03.06.2022
Sculptor –
Artist-designer – Kapranov S.
[Иллюстрационный материал предоставлен] –

 

You are welcome to purchase our products
in the online store of the JSC Marka's branch in Austria.

Buy

Ludwig Schwartz (1822–1894) was a Russian astronomer, explorer of Eastern Siberia and the Far East, a laureate of the Demidov Prize, member of the Russian Geographical Society and the Russian Astronomical Society.

On the recommendation of Academician V. Struve, he was assigned for the position of an astronomer in the Transbaikal Expedition of N. Agte. In addition to participating in the compilation of the final map, Schwartz discovered and characterized Verkhnezeyskaya Plain, and also the Turan Ridge in cooperation with topographer S. Krutiv and draughtsman A. Argunov; besides, he acquired the first information about the Aldan Mountains.

In 1858, in the central part of the Western Sayan Mountains, on the right bank of the Yenisei, Schwarz discovered five short mountain ranges. On the basis of the gained materials, he compiled a detailed map of the Transbaikal and the Amur territories, which for a long time served as the only basis for further exploration of these regions.

After the expedition had been accomplished, Ludwig Schwarz was the Director of the Derpt Observatory and a professor of astronomy at the local university.

The main illustration shows the bust of L. Schwartz by sculptor A. Chebanenko against the background of a map of his travels and the RGS logo; the commemorative stamp features images symbolizing the geographic projects.

 

Denomination Paper Printing method Format of the postal card Edition
Letter "B" Chalk surfaced Offset 105 × 148 mm 6,5 thousand postcards

Frequently bought together

№ 375/окр. Серия «Географические проекты России». 200 лет со дня рождения Л.Э. Шварца (1822–1894), астронома, путешественника

03.06.2022
Скульптор – Чебаненко А.
Художник-дизайнер – Капранов С.
Иллюстрационный материал предоставлен – Русское географическое общество

 


Шварц Людвиг Эдуардович (1822–1894) — русский астроном, исследователь Восточной Сибири и Дальнего Востока, лауреат Демидовской премии, член Русского географического общества и Русского астрономического общества.

По рекомендации академика В. Струве зачислен на должность астронома в Забайкальскую экспедицию Н. Агте. Помимо участия в составлении итоговой карты Шварц открыл и описал Верхнезейскую равнину, а вместе с топографом С. Крутивом и чертёжником А. Аргуновым — хребет Турана, также собрал первые сведения об Алданском нагорье.

В 1858 году в центральной части Западного Саяна, на правобережье Енисея, Шварц открыл пять коротких горных цепей. На основании собранных материалов он составил подробную карту Забайкалья и Амурского края, долгое время служившую единственной основой для дальнейших исследований этих мест.

После завершения экспедиции Людвиг Эдуардович Шварц был директором Дерптской обсерватории, а также профессором астрономии местного университета.

На основной иллюстрации изображён бюст Л.Э. Шварца работы А.Д. Чебаненко на фоне карты его путешествий и логотип РГО; на оригинальной марке — изображения, символически отражающие географические проекты.

 

Номинал Бумага Способ печати Формат открыток Тираж
Литера "B" Мелованная Офсет 105 × 148 мм 6,5 тыс. экз.

С этим покупают

Карточки с оригинальной маркой

Односторонние художественные карточки (открытки) с нанесённой на них типографским способом стандартной почтовой маркой, представляющей собой литеру «В» в художественном оформлении. Оригинальная марка отдельно от карточки в обращение не выпускается. Такие карточки издаются к памятным датам, специальные почтовые штемпеля выпускаются ко всем карточкам с оригинальной маркой.